What are Public Holidays Called in Australia?

by CiCi
0 comment

Public holidays in Australia are significant cultural and social events that commemorate various historical, religious, and national occasions. Known colloquially as “public holidays” or simply “holidays,” these days are eagerly anticipated for their opportunities to relax, celebrate, and spend time with family and friends. This article explores the diverse landscape of public holidays in Australia, their significance, traditions, and how they are observed across the country.

Understanding Public Holidays in Australia

Public holidays in Australia are established by each state and territory, as well as nationally recognized holidays. These holidays are legally recognized days off from work and school for the general population, allowing Australians to participate in festivities, travel, and leisure activities. While some holidays are observed nationwide, others are specific to individual states or territories, reflecting local histories, cultures, and traditions.


1. National Public Holidays

New Year’s Day

New Year’s Day on January 1st marks the beginning of the calendar year and is celebrated with parties, fireworks, and family gatherings across Australia. It is a time for reflection on the past year and setting goals for the year ahead.


Australia Day

Australia Day on January 26th commemorates the arrival of the First Fleet at Port Jackson in New South Wales in 1788, marking the beginning of British colonization of Australia. It is a day of national pride and identity, celebrated with community events, barbecues (known as “barbies”), and citizenship ceremonies welcoming new Australians.

Anzac Day

Anzac Day on April 25th honors the members of the Australian and New Zealand Army Corps (ANZAC) who served and died in wars, conflicts, and peacekeeping operations. It includes dawn services, marches, and ceremonies at war memorials across the country.

Christmas Day

Christmas Day on December 25th celebrates the birth of Jesus Christ and is a major religious and cultural holiday in Australia. It is marked by festive decorations, gift-giving, family gatherings, and special meals.

Boxing Day

Boxing Day on December 26th originated as a day when servants and tradespeople received gifts (“Christmas boxes”) from their employers. Today, it is a public holiday known for shopping sales, sports events (such as cricket matches), and outdoor activities.

2. State and Territory Public Holidays

Labour Day (Various Dates)

Labour Day is observed on different dates across Australia depending on the state or territory. It honors the achievements of workers and the labor movement, promoting worker rights and fair working conditions. Dates include:

  • New South Wales and South Australia: First Monday in October
  • Victoria and Tasmania: Second Monday in March
  • Queensland: First Monday in May
  • Western Australia: First Monday in March
  • Northern Territory: First Monday in May

Queen’s Birthday

The Queen’s Birthday is celebrated in each state and territory on different dates, typically in June or October, to honor the birthday of the reigning monarch of Australia (currently Queen Elizabeth II). It is a public holiday marked by parades, ceremonies, and community events.

Easter Holidays

Good Friday and Easter Monday are observed as public holidays across Australia, marking the Christian holy days commemorating the crucifixion and resurrection of Jesus Christ. They are times for religious observance, family gatherings, and Easter egg hunts.

Various State-Specific Holidays

Each state and territory in Australia may observe additional public holidays specific to their history, culture, or local significance. For example:

  • Northern Territory Day: Celebrated on July 1st to mark the Northern Territory’s self-governance.
  • Western Australia Day: Honors the founding of the Swan River Colony on the first Monday in June.
  • Picnic Day (Northern Territory): A day off for residents to enjoy picnics and outdoor activities, typically in August.

3. Cultural and Religious Observances

In addition to official public holidays, Australia recognizes various cultural and religious observances celebrated by diverse communities across the country. These may include:

  • Diwali: Celebrated by the Hindu, Sikh, and Jain communities with festivals of lights, fireworks, and traditional foods.
  • Chinese New Year: Marked by the Chinese community with lion dances, dragon parades, and feasts.
  • Harmony Day: Celebrates Australia’s cultural diversity on March 21st with community events promoting inclusivity and understanding.

4. Indigenous Commemorative Days

Australia also recognizes days of significance for Indigenous Australians, including:

  • NAIDOC Week: Celebrated in July to honor the history, culture, and achievements of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.
  • Sorry Day: Acknowledges the mistreatment of Indigenous Australians, particularly those affected by the Stolen Generations policies.

See also: Where to Go in Australia for a Relaxing Holiday


Public holidays in Australia reflect the country’s rich tapestry of cultures, histories, and values. They provide opportunities for Australians to come together, celebrate their heritage, and enjoy leisure time with loved ones. Whether observing national events like Australia Day and Anzac Day or state-specific holidays such as Labour Day and Queen’s Birthday, these public holidays play a vital role in shaping Australia’s national identity and fostering community spirit across the continent.


You may also like


Welcome to our festival portal! We’re your ultimate guide to celebrations, offering a curated selection of events, traditions, and tips to make every occasion unforgettable. From cultural festivities to seasonal delights, join us in embracing the spirit of joy and togetherness.

Copyright © 2023